Express pasta with homemade tomato sauce

Usually I do not buy tomato sauce. The reason is that once you open it, you have to finish it within a week and I love pasta and tomato sauce but I don’t want to eat that everyday! And I discovered it was so simple to make your own fresh and delicious tomato sauce that I definitely adopted it. The only thing I need to keep in my fridge is tomato puree, but that you can keep for months once the tube is open.

So to make this recipe you just need a tomato, tomato puree, and pasta! It takes 10 minutes and you’ll see than once you’ve tried you’ll get back to it very often!

Pasta-tomato

Preparation: 5 minutes
Cooking: 10 minutes
Servings: 1
Level: Super easy
Cost: Super cheap

Equipment: saucepan, drainer, bowl

Ingredients:
– pasta (wholewheat penne on the photo)
– 1 fresh tomato
– tomato puree
– a tbsp of olive oil
– herbs: basilic, oregano, thyme, etc, dry or fresh

In a saucepan, bring salted water to the boil and cook the pasta.
In the meantime, boil some water, pour in a bowl and plunge the tomato 30 seconds.
Then peel the tomato, remove the seeds and chop. Keep in the bowl.
When pasta is cooked, drain and leave in the drainer.
In the same saucepan (remember I have only one, and I have no dishwasher, so I optimize!) put a table spoon of olive oil and the tomatoes. Cook 1 minute at medium heat. Then add a teaspoon of tomato puree and a bit of water. Stir.
Add the pasta, herbs, pepper, salt, stir and serve!

You can add fresh herbs on top if you have some and/or parmesan. On the photo, it is rocket salad. I like the peppery taste with the pasta.

Variations: This is really basic (and already delicious!) but you can do more sophisticated stuff by adding onions, olives, …

Leave a comment

