The mug series

Being in exam period, I need some treats. That is why I experimented a series of “mug treats” that you cook in a mug with a microwave. It is good because you can do it in 5 minutes and for 1 person.

(I do not have any photo, because you may already have noticed my poor talent for photography, and in the mug, it is too dark and you can’t see anything!)

The pear and chocolate:

First one I tried. I had a pear, I had chocolate. I just diced the pear, spread chocolate chips, added a tablespoon of ground almond or oat. Mix everything, microwave, let cool down 5 minutes, enjoy!!

Variations: Pear and cinnamon, apple and cinnamon, banana and chocolate

The “light” chocolate mug cake (no butter):

Put 25g of chocolate in your mug, with a little bit of water. Microwave for 20 seconds and mix until homogeneous. Add a (small) tablespoon of yoghurt, 1/2 tbsp of sugar, half a beaten egg (Or whole but then increase the quantity of other ingredients maybe), a tbsp of flour. Microwave for 1min30. Let cool down and enjoy.

NB: add more or less flour for a more or less liquid cake.
In this recipe I put only half an egg, that allow you to make two mug cakes, or one big but it might be too big because even if it is “light”, it is still quite filling!
Do not put too much yoghurt. A small tablespoon is enough. In any case, the key ingredient is chocolate, so don’t be afraid to put a lot of it! Enjoy ^^

Other ideas: I haven’t tried yet but I would like to see what you get when you replace egg and yoghurt by soft tofu and a little bit of baking powder

Otherwise, there is still the classic chocolate mug cake with chocolate, 1 egg, 10 g of butter, flour and baking powder. But this one you can find the recipe everywhere!

The blueberry and yoghurt mug cake:

This one was an epic fail. I put yoghurt in it but probably too much! It looked like a weird soufflé (and tasted quite bad). I’ll try again maybe and release the recipe when it is eatable!

One thought on “The mug series

  1. Pingback: The mug series 2: Chocolate and tofu! | La Petite Frenchy

Leave a comment

